Power Pigtails

wearing pigtails and being an athlete at the same time

Regrets …on not pursuing collegiate level sports

leave a comment »

190/365 – soccer, originally uploaded by djdphotos.

There was a time in my life when I couldn’t imagine having to give up soccer. My biggest fear was that I would end up at a college where I couldn’t play or that I wouldn’t be good enough to make the team. Things change though. By the time I was a senior in high school I was tired of playing travel soccer, I was tired of playing girls sports in general. So when it came time to make inquiries and decisions, I didn’t pursue a tryout at my school of choice.

On the bright side, I ended up finding a sport, competitive college ultimate, that fit my tastes and happened to also be co-ed (at the time). Recently I’ve started playing soccer regularly again and I’m wondering why I gave it up so easily. I spent literally ten years of my life learning the game. It seems like a waste that I didn’t continue to play competitively.

It all comes down to wondering if I would have been happier as a college soccer player -who knows? I guess there’s still time. I haven’t used any eligibility so theoretically were I interested in playing as a grad school student somewhere, I could. I don’t know though.

Written by powerpigtails

September 5, 2009 at 8:33 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

