Power Pigtails

wearing pigtails and being an athlete at the same time

Football Stories

leave a comment »

This is a “personal glimpse” story I wrote a long time ago about one of the experiences I had during my first weeks of playing high school football. I was the only girl on the team and I didn’t get a lot of help or respect from my teammates. I’ve done a fair bit of writing about the sports I played in high school so I’ll probably share a bit of it here.

The first day of pre-season wearing full pads. Head coach Hanson hands me a pair of practice pants and I turn around to face the huge bin of different shaped pads. The boys are grabbing at everything, making a mess, and shoving pads into the pockets where those pads are supposed to fit. I stand back to watch. Hip pads, thigh pads, knee pads, belts. Today I will look like a football player. Maybe. When the boys start to clear out, I move in and try to replicate what I’ve seen. Everything is mismatched and different sizes. I lay the pieces out on the floor like a puzzle. Pretty soon I’m the only one left in the locker room and I’m no closer to figuring out what to do. Another two minutes go by, I’m so late. Maybe I should just walk out of here and quit. I’d have the stupidest reason for quitting ever. Was football too rough for you Suzie? No, I just couldn’t figure out how to put my pants together. I let out an angry yell and throw everything up against a locker. Someone clears his throat and I look up, shocked. In my frustration I didn’t notice the janitor came in. He cocks his head to one side and says, “you play football?”
“Yeah.” My reply comes out a little more standoffish than I meant it to.
“You fast?”
“I don’t know. Not particularly.” I look at the floor and start gathering up all the gear I threw. He picks up a hip pad and motions for me to hand over the belt.
“You have to alternate lacing the belt through the pads and the pants like this,” He demonstrates. “Make sure you give yourself enough slack at the beginning or you’ll run out of room and not have enough to sinch it at the end.”
“You play football in high school?” The question sounds stupid coming out of my mouth but he smiles.
“Oh yeah.”
“Were you fast?”
The smile turns into a laugh as he replies, “No, haha, not particularly.”
Pants on, I grin as I run out onto the practice fields. Coach is standing at the gate, “What are you grinning for girl? You’re LATE!”

Written by powerpigtails

September 19, 2009 at 11:03 pm

Posted in High School Stories

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

