Power Pigtails

wearing pigtails and being an athlete at the same time

Injuries

leave a comment »

 


g-g-g-groin

Originally uploaded by heatherkh

I thought I’d talk a little about injuries today since I seem to have contracted one. It’s the dreaded groin pull! And yes, I went into flickr and searched “groin pull” for this stock photo.
I became aware of the pain in my groin area after working out on Saturday. I was just running on the treadmill, a little harder than usual but nothing noteworthy, and as soon as I stepped off I felt that little twinge. So I rested up on Sunday and I thought I was good to go for practice tonight but apparently not. The groin pull reared its ugly head once more and now I’m stuck in a bad position that I’m sure everyone has faced before: push through or sit out?
I know that the correct answer to that question is obviously to sit out for a few days and let it heal as to avoid making it worse. But I’m stupid. And the captain of a team. And we have an important tournament to get ready for this week. And I’m stupid.
So what will actually end up happening is that I will try to ignore this injury and practice normally for the rest of the week. I will do so knowing that it is a stupid stupid thing to do and that I don’t care. At some point I should really start caring though. Because I will not always be a crazy college student and I have to come to terms with the fact that someday I might break for real.

It’s not a happy thought.

Written by powerpigtails

October 27, 2009 at 4:31 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

