Power Pigtails

wearing pigtails and being an athlete at the same time

When Things Don’t Go My Way

leave a comment »

 


showing muscles with Captain Planet

Originally uploaded by MLA 2.0

There are always bad days.
Days where for whatever reason I’m not functioning and nothing goes right and it’s raining and just shitty. Sometimes when I’m having one of those days it’s best for me to just cut my losses and try again tomorrow. But I tried to force it today, and even though I had a plan for practice all worked out ahead of time, setting up for each new drill seemed like the most painful thing in the world. The drills had no energy at all and I was in no mood to promote it. The girls were having conversations about how often they shave their legs and why. Every screwy throw or dropped pass pissed me off a little bit more. But I knew I had to go when I realized that watching this one girl in particular try to play ultimate was making me hate my life. This tiny girl seems so uninterested, so out of place, so completely nonathletic that I just don’t know what to do about it. Part of my soul dies every time I watch her run. Wow, that was mean. You see? I’m am in no state to be captaining a team right now.

And then sometimes you have to suck it up and captain.
I think up through this point I’ve shied away from expressing real disappointment with my team. I’ve never seen a lot of good come from being a surly captain and don’t want to be hated or disrespected. Playing with the men’s team my first few years I remember how our captain Chip used to get upset with our performance and yell during half time. I love Chip, but his anger at tournaments didn’t really motivate us, it only alienated him. I’m the opposite, when things start going really badly I isolate myself. Funny how both approaches essentially accomplish the same thing.

Is there a way to always be the best captain possible?

Written by powerpigtails

November 10, 2009 at 7:11 am

Posted in ultimate

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

