Power Pigtails

wearing pigtails and being an athlete at the same time

Tightening up, getting strong

leave a comment »


Yoga mats

Originally uploaded by Richard-

If ever there was an incentive to tighten up it’s having a skinny athletic dude poke you unceasingly in the stomach.

Recently I’ve discovered that supplementing my workouts with “strength training” exercise videos does more for me than any amount of straight long distance running ever did. I’m all over some Exercise TV which comes complimentary with our comcast package. It’s part of my ultimate goal to finally develop some legitimate upper-body strength (or at least toning) for the second time in my life. Most of the workouts are awful and I can’t stand. Some are decent though.

My only problem is that I’m ashamed to admit that I’m doing these workouts to anyone. I have to wait until Ron leaves to do any of them and I worry that he’ll see them on the recently viewed programs list. I’m a closet-exercise-videoist.
Really I don’t know why I’m afraid of people knowing I do Jillian Michaels Cardio BOOST or whatever it’s called; is there some underlying stigma attached to people who rely on these workouts? I’m not sure.

I guess I just don’t want people to think I’m concerned with sculpting my abs for bathing suit season. I love to sculpt abs, however I do not own a bathing suit. Swimming is for people who like to swim you know?

Thoughts: I have the same body image insecurities as any other chick on the block. I have a skinny athletic dude poking me unceasingly in the stomach when I’m just trying to watch It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. It would be awesome if he broke his stupid finger on my rock hard abs. I’m working on it.

In the mean time, I tried my first yoga workout tonight and enjoyed it quite a bit (hey-o Healthy Tipping Point!). I just hope I didn’t further injure my groin by it.

Written by powerpigtails

November 11, 2009 at 6:19 am

Leave a Reply

