Power Pigtails

wearing pigtails and being an athlete at the same time

What can Manly Men Expect of Women?

leave a comment »


9/365 Perfect Housewife

Originally uploaded by AlicePalice

I read a blog called the Art of Manliness. Let us, for the moment, not worry about why I’m reading a blog about manliness and instead discuss a recent blog post seen here.

What can Manly Men Expect of Women targets one of the most perplexing questions I’ve delt with personally in my life.

In high school I stopped identifying myself as a feminist because I hated the ‘double standard’ which seemed so often implied with it. Although it is claimed that true feminism is only the quest for total gender equality, most of the time it comes across as: women are better than men and should be treated as such by all.

I’m proud of the fact that I can cook fancy dinners, host nice parties, reupholster couches, keep track of household bills, make sure the cookie jar stays full, clean a house from top to bottom, and patch up my roommates pants. I do all these things because they make me feel good. I don’t know if that’s because I’m a girl or not but when I don’t do these things or if they’re done for me I feel guilty. I don’t expect my male roommates to do many chores. I expect them to clean up their dirt bike parts and keep their shit contained mostly to their rooms. But it’s hard when the males in my life start taking the things I do for granted. And therein lies the crux of the problem. How do you balance doing things for people with being taken advantage of because you’re the girl? I’d like to think that if I ever get married that person will know how to appreciate the things I do and I’ll feel better about doing them but it worries me.

There’s only one real thing that gets me good. Hanging out with athletic men as often as I do, the bashing of women’s athletics is almost inevitable. I agree that women’s sports are slower, and that women’s college ultimate is almost laughable. I agree that women are weaker and slower and can never hope to compete with men. All I care about is how hard I work and how seriously I take my sports performance. These guys don’t know what it’s like to work as hard as they possibly can and still never hope to be as good as their male counterpart. So when I don’t get credit for the work I’ve done as an athlete, that makes me mad.

All I ever want by males is respect. I’ve learned that the way to gaining respect is hard work and putting other people first when it counts. At least that seems to hold true for both genders.

Written by powerpigtails

December 21, 2009 at 3:57 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

