Power Pigtails

wearing pigtails and being an athlete at the same time

Mind Dump about Teamwork-

leave a comment »


sectionals_03

Originally uploaded by suziepigtails

This was me thinking about things I wanted to say to my team the night before sectionals. I ended up giving a speech along these lines before our first game but it went nothing like this at all.

I don’t know if this is the appropriate time or place to have this discussion, I probably should have done it at a practice last week or something but I think it’s important, so I’m going to go ahead and talk about it before we start play this weekend.
As cheesy as this sounds, I was thinking a lot about what it means to be a team last night. It scares me to see how our men’s team operates because so few of them seem to know what it means to be part of a team, and those of them who do know don’t practice it. I once had a coach who told me my primary responsibility, as a member of that team, was to make my teammates look good. That goes for everyone on the field. When you step on the field your personal performance concerns need to go out the window. When you step on the field you take responsibility for triumphs and shortcomings of not only yourself, but six of your teammates. That means we can’t afford to say I dropped a pass, so-and-so is fucking up the dump throw, it’s the we dropped a pass, we fucked up the dump throw.
You want to know what makes us a regionals contending team and the men not? Forget what they tell you about the quality of competition and womens ultimate. They’re not as good as us because they’re not a team. The lack of respect the men have for each other is ridiculous and it’s poisoning their program. I don’t see this being an issue for us as long as we keep doing what we’re doing. Summary: Check your personal issues at the door and work as part of the team unit. If you understand this, then you understand what it means to be on a team.
Having personal goals will only get us so far, so today I want to go around and say one thing that you plan on doing to support someone else in game.

Written by powerpigtails

April 10, 2010 at 11:37 pm

Posted in ultimate

Leave a Reply

